Dear friends,

‘Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.’

To be honest I still can’t really believe that we are leaving.  I know in my head – but my heart is still taking time to adjust.  As I reflect I am still amazed at the journey we have been on together for the last seven years.  God has done so much within and through us as a community.  I still remember the days when we were no more than a handful of people with little money and a leaking church roof – and now look at us!  But this is only the beginning.

I am reminded of the verses, that I believe God gave, as I sought discernment as to whether I should leave Christ Church:

3 I thank my God every time I remember you. 4 In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy 5 because of your partnership in the gospel from the first day until now, 6 being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:3-6)

I believe that God has more, much more, for Christ Church in the coming months and years – but I have two pleas, two words of advice; pray and stay.

Prayer is an amazing mystery.  God is so great and merciful that he doesn’t wait to be asked before giving us what we need. And yet we can participate, we can work with God, through prayer.  Now, during this time of transition, is the time to pray.  Please pray for the future, for vision for the PCC, for God to raise up a new leader and for unity within the church.

Stay.  Christ Church during interregnum, during this time of uncertainty and change, you might be tempted to leave.  Unless God makes it blindingly obvious (and I’m talking messages from angelic hosts), please resist – please stay. As I have said many times, church is counter-cultural because you are not here to be entertained, instead we have been brought together to be Christ’s body in this place.  Which means you are here to love, to challenge, to support and reach out in the name Jesus!  So please don’t surrender your post, don’t give up and don’t give way to compromise! Stay.

We, as a family, want to say thank you.  Thank you for your love, for your faith and for laughing with us over the last seven years.  We will miss you dreadfully.

Many blessings,

Andrew

